# **Brentwood Borough Council** POLITICAL BALANCE – 20 May 2015

### The Political Balance of the Council is:

POLITICAL GROUP	NO. OF MEMBERS		%
CONSERVATIVE	23	=	62.162
LIBERAL DEMOCRATS	11	=	29.729
LABOUR	2	=	5.405
NON- ALIGNED	1	=	2.702
TOTALS	37		100

POLITICAL GROUP	NO. OF MEMBERS	NO. OF SEATS ON ORDINARY COMMITTEES
CONSERVATIVE	23	47 (46.621)
LIBERAL DEMOCRATS	11	22 (22.297)
LABOUR	2	4 (4.054)
NON- ALIGNED	1	2 (2.702)
		75

#### PROPOSAL:

	A,S&TC	C & HC**	DAC***	EDC****	E&HMC	P & LC++	P,F&R#	SAC~	TOTAL
	(9)	(9)	(9)	(9)	(9)	(12)	(9)	(9)	75
		_		_	_		_	_	
CON	5	6	5	6	6	7	6	6	47
LIB DEM	3	3	3	3	3	3	2	2	22
LAB	1	0	0	0	0	1	1	1	4
NON- AL.	0	0	1	0	0	1	0	0	2
	9	9	9	9	9	12	9	9	75

<sup>\*</sup>AS&TC denotes Audit, Scrutiny and Transformation Committee

<sup>\*\*</sup>C & HC denotes Community & Health Committee
\*\*\* DAC denotes Dismissal Appeals Committee (Only meets on demand)

<sup>\*\*\*\*</sup>EDC denotes Economic Development Committee

<sup>+</sup> E & HMC denotes Environment & Housing Management Committee

<sup>++</sup> P & LC denotes Planning and Licensing Committee

<sup>#</sup>P, F&R denotes Policy, Finance & Resources Committee

<sup>~</sup> SAC denotes Staff Appointments Committee (Only meets on demand)

#### Section 15 (5) principles

Section 15 (5) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 states:-

'The principles mentioned in subsection (4) above, in relation to the seats on any body which fall to be filled by appointments made by any relevant authority or committee of a relevant authority, are –

- (a) that not all the seats on the body are allocated to the same political group;
- (b) that the majority of the seats on the body is allocated to a particular political group if the number of persons belonging to that group is a majority of the authority's membership;
- (c) subject to paragraphs (a) and (b) above, that the number of seats on the ordinary committees of a relevant authority which are allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the total of all seats on the ordinary committees of that authority as is borne by the number of members of that group to the membership of the authority; and
- (d) subject to paragraphs (a) to (c) above, that the number of the seats on the body which are allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the number of all the seats on that body as is borne by the number of members of that group to the membership of the authority.'

Ordinary Committees do not include sub-committees or advisory committees or advisory sub-committees.

### **APPENDIX B COMBINED WITH APPENDIXC**

# **NOMINATIONS TO SEAT ALLOCATIONS & APPOINTMENTS**

(Council must give effect to the wishes of the political groups as regards the nominations for the seats allocated to those political groups).

Audit, Scrutiny & Transformation Committee (9)	Conservative (5)	Liberal Democrat (3)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr John Kerslake*	TBA	Cllr Gareth Barrett	
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Sheila Murphy**	TBA		
	Cllr Noelle Hones	TBA		
	Cllr Mellissa Slade			
	Cllr Will Trump			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Roger McCheyne	TBA	Cllr Julie Morrissey	
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mark Reed	TBA		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Tony Sleep			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Andy Wiles			
Community & Health Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (3)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr William Russell*	ТВА		
Vice-Chair**	Cllr Olivia Sanders**	ТВА		
	Cllr Ann Coe	ТВА		
	Clir Paul Faragher			
	Cllr Cliff Poppy			
	Cllr Andy Wiles			

Approved Substitute:	Cllr Chris Hossack	ТВА	
Approved Substitute:	Cllr John Kerslake	ТВА	
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Sheila Murphy		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Louise Rowlands		

Dismissal Appeals Committee (9)	Conservative (5)	Liberal Democrat (3)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (1)
Chair:	Cllr Louise McKinlay	ТВА		Cllr Roger Keeble
Vice-Chair:	Cllr Roger Hirst	ТВА		
	Cllr John Kerslake	ТВА		
	Cllr Roger McCheyne			
	Cllr Keith Parker			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Paul Faragher	ТВА		ТВА
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Chris Hossack	ТВА		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Will Russell			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Tony Sleep			

Economic Development Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (3)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Keith Parker*	TBA		
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Louise Rowlands**	ТВА		
	Cllr Jon Cloke	TBA		
	Cllr Olivia Sanders			
	Cllr Mellissa Slade			
	Cllr David Tee			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Paul Barrell	ТВА		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Paul Faragher	TBA		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Sheila Murphy			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Andy Wiles			

Environment & Housing Management Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (3)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Chris Hossack*	ТВА		
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Clifford Poppy**	TBA		
	Clir Ann Coe	TBA		
	Cllr Madeline Henwood			
	Cllr Louise Rowlands			
	Clir Tony Sleep			

Approved Substitute:	Cllr Paul Barrell	ТВА		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Jon Cloke	ТВА		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Olivia Sanders			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mellissa Slade			
Planning & Licensing Committee (12)	Conservative (7)	Liberal Democrat (3)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned (1)
Chair*:	Cllr Roger McCheyne*	TBA	Cllr Julie Morrissey	Cllr Roger Keeble
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr William Trump**	TBA		
	Cllr Paul Barrell	TBA		
	Cllr Jon Cloke			
	Cllr Sheila Murphy			
	Cllr Mark Reed			
	Cllr David Tee			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Ann Coe	ТВА	Cllr Gareth Barrett	ТВА
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Cliff Poppy	ТВА		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Louise Rowlands			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Andy Wiles			

Policy, Finance & Resources Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Louise McKinlay*	ТВА	Cllr Gareth Barrett	
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Roger Hirst**	TBA		
	Cllr Paul Faragher			
	Cllr Chris Hossack			
	Cllr Keith Parker			
	Cllr Will Russell			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Roger McCheyne	TBA	Cllr Julie Morrissey	
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Cliff Poppy	TBA		
Approved Substitute:	Clir Tony Sleep			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Will Trump			
Staff Appointments Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Louise McKinlay*	ТВА	Cllr Julie Morrissey	
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Roger Hirst	TBA		
	Clir John Kerslake			
	Cllr Roger McCheyne			
	Cllr Keith Parker			
	Cllr Paul Faragher			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Chris Hossack	ТВА	Cllr Gareth Barrett	
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Louise Rowlands	TBA		

Approved Substitute:	Cllr Will Russell		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Tony Sleep		